Sangha Session 5: Pros and cons of an online vs. studio yoga practice

Hi fellow yogis,

I have been practising yoga for a few years now, having discovered DYWM classes two years ago. Prior to that, I always did my yoga practice in a studio. A year ago (tomorrow!) we had twin boys, so my free time became far more limited. Initially I found it difficult to find time for my practice, but since the new year 30 day challenge, I’ve practiced most days and love the fact online yoga has enabled me to find time for yoga again. I am aware that in some circles online yoga is not viewed as being as beneficial as being in a studio with first-hand tutor guidance. I am not so sure this is true as the DYWM classes have taught me so much more about yoga and its many forms than I could have learnt in a studio environment. What do you think are the pros and cons of online vs. studio yoga?

I look forward to reading your views!

Rob

3 Likes

I have two young children too and there’s no way I can get to a yoga studio regularly. But truthfully, I’m not sure I’d do that even if I did have the time. I’ve progressed way farther from this site (and youtube, but primarily this site) than I ever have from a studio. I’ve never been to a studio where I am where they practice advanced poses.

And now that I’ve been practicing yoga for over a year now regularly, I know what a really good yoga teacher looks like. And I feel like I’d be hard pressed to find someone with the same skills and knowledge as the instructors on this site, where I could get one on one teaching. In fact I feel like I AM getting one on one teaching with yoga from home.

9 Likes

Wow, thank you. That certainly makes us feel like we’re doing something right! We do have a pretty sweet team of teachers!

4 Likes