Snapping hip/yoga butt/hyper-flexibility help

Hi,

I’ve been practicing on the site for 5/6 years on and off… Am currently at an intermediate level but I having some trouble with one of my hips. It first started clunking/snapping where it joins at the groin/butt. I realised that my hip was probably a bit too externally rotated, and have managed to stabilise it so that it doesn’t snap/clunk so much but now a pain has moved into my sit bone. I had this same sit bone pain problem last year, read a bit about it and stopped doing yoga out of fear of further injury. I don’t want to give up my practice this time but I know it needs some changes. I am very flexible from my practice, especially in forward folds, and I had strength to balance it but now I’ve been forced into a more sedentary lifestyle with study and a winter depression coming on. I think from lying and sitting down too much my strength is fading a bit while by flexibility seems to remain and this is leading to injury.

After taking a few days rest (unfortunately with a lot of sitting) the pain seems to be worsening (admittedly it is not at all severe at this stage, but I listen to my body when it speaks)

How should I adjust my practice so I can keep doing yoga without fear? I know I need to adjust forward folding but I’m not sure in what way… some sources say to bend knees (which seems to hurt more), some say straighten legs. Is there a way to skip forward folds in asanas? Is there a class that maximises leg/butt/core strength I need to balance my flexibility?

I have paused my practice at day 8 of the empower yourself 30 day intermediate challenge (I did Rachel’s core strength for bow pose a few days ago). I’ll take it up again when I know I won’t hurt myself any further.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated… mainly just the adjusting forward folds bit…

Thank you for all you do.

Hannah

1 Like

Hello, Hannah.