Keeping up my level through necessary breaks/sickness

Hi there

I am so proud of myself as I have been keeping a very regular practice now for at least two months, maybe even more where i have practiced daily for all but maybe 5 days. Not always hours long but at least 20-30 minutes a day and I feel the benefits of it.* But now, as similar to most of the times where I have found a working yoga routine for myself, I have caught a cold and want to give my body the rest it needs.

However, i feel my back starting to ache already after 2 days of not practicing (this also is why i need a regular practice, it saves my back by engaging my core!) and next to that i remember the “setback” feeling of other times where i broke my routine and the “disappointment” of having to work back up to the level i had reached before.

So i am wondering, other than just doing restorative classes with a lot of Yin and resting, are there “sickness-proof” (especially cold symptoms like headache and shortness of breath) exercises i could do to keep my stomach muscles active so my back won’t suffer too much during the wait? And possibly a way to sort of “keep my body remembering” the progress made during my absence from the regular practice while i am cureing out my cold?

This could also be interesting for times where a regular practice just isnt possible like travel where not much room or time is available for the mat.

• So many thanks for Challenges like the 30 days: Daily Dose Challenge!! <3 this keeps me motivated so well to do at least a bit and more if i feel like it!

I am sorry to hear that you are sick, but it is encouraging to know you are giving yourself permission to rest and heal. Stepping away from the practice to remind us how essential it is in maintaining an elevated baseline for energy, mobility, mood, and physicality! I recently had a similar week off due to oral surgery where I was not allowed to practice.