Creating a peaceful home-practice space

Greetings all. I’m new to home yoga as I’ve always done classes in a club. I’m interested to hear what others have done to create a home space that enables an active and peaceful experience. For me, the practice environment influences how the session goes and I’d love to hear advice from experienced home-practitioners.

Thanks, Barry

I live in an apartment, and practice yoga almost every day in the living room since it is where I feel most comfortable. I use an iPad Pro for streaming YouTube DYWM videos because the DYWM site videos don‘t stream well on the iPad Pro (DYWM tech staff have been very helpful with the issue which I feel may be due partly to my iPad‘s age).

My yoga mat, bolster, straps, and a yoga cushion are stored under a futon. I have blocks and blankets on a nearby closet shelf. I try to do yoga in the morning when it‘s quiet. If it‘s dark out during our long, cold winters, I turn on the electric fireplace for the only light in the room. The soft glow provides a peaceful start to my day and for my practice. In warmer weather, I open the patio door. The neighborhood is quiet, and I like the outdoor feeling.

I usually choose a class or combination of classes for a 20-45 minute morning practice. It might be one or two shorter yoga classes or a yoga/pilates class. In winter, I like the outdoor DYWM videos. I try to go to a YMCA Barre Pilates class about once or twice a week for the classroom experience, and because the teacher is excellent. Currently, I‘m combining DYWM with online YMCA360 short Barre and Boot Camp videos because the Y is closed due to COVID-19. I do the exercise videos before the yoga class. In the evening, before bedtime, I usually do a shorter Restorative or Yin class and listen to a Relaxation audio.