Curious how others incorporate yoga into their workout routine

Hey, I’m curious how everyone else works yoga into their fitness regime. I have been doing yoga on and off for several years but am now just making it more of a priority. I have been doing it daily for a while now, adding in running a couple days a week as well as a couple days of High Intensity Interval Training. (I’ve dropped strength training with heavy weights) I find that yoga loosens me up, but my other workouts just tighten me back up again. I am not sure I can ever do “just yoga” since i’m am afraid of loosing muscle and endurance. I’m trying to find the right balance! :slight_smile: I’d love to hear about how anyone else prioritizes their fitness.

1 Like

For me it’s always been about well being, and I’ve required a balance of activities that challenge endurance, strength, speed, flexibility and balance. It can be hard to find the right balance, but over time I have been able to feel the effects that each kind of exercise has on my body and mind and I plan accordingly.

With kids and work it can be difficult to do everything I would like to, so I generally do a little bit of everything, or more if I can fit it in. Exercise and yoga make me feel so alive and healthy that it would be hard to imagine my life without them.

I guess to answer your question, I go with what feels right.

Yoga is my primary fitness regime. I lost more than 30 pounds in the last year just from yoga and mindfully eating; I occasionally added in walking or a fun 10 minute kickboxing or zumba routine here and there (i.e., once every few weeks or so).

2 Likes