How much can I do Yoga every day as an absolute beginner?

Hello,
Thank you for all the Beginners videos you have on your website. I am an absolute beginner. I do not even know how to properly breath, so this will give you an idea at my beginner’s stage. Basically, I do not know anything about Yoga, but I have so many physical injures, I am interested in meditation, and also my doctor has recommended me to do Yoga, and this is why I am here. I love your website and I even have my “fav” yoga teacher already! However, I am not sure if I am doing it right, in terms of time. I have read all the beginners stages and some of the Additional Resources.

Right now, I am only doing the three videos “Learn the Yoga Basics,” so my question would it be, for how long should I continue doing these exercises and if I should do all of three videos at one time, every day?

Thank you for your guidance and for helping better our lives. You are indeed amazing.

Namaste.

Hello there!

Thanks for reaching out. I’m glad you’ve joined our community!

Think of stretching the same way you would think of strength training. The amount and frequency that you choose to do depends on your needs and where your body is at. If you would like to increase flexibility, stretch more frequently for longer sessions. Your body will tell you if you’ve done to much - it will be a bit sore the next day. Some soreness is ok, but you want to avoid feeling too sore.

It also sounds like you’re being careful to do your best to do yoga safely. Starting with those videos is the way to go, and as long as you’re practicing with mindfulness, you’ll be fine.

I hope that answers your questions!

3 Likes