Morning Micro-Practice

Hi, and thank you for all of the great content throughout the years! I have a quick question about my daily practice (hopefully this is the right place to post it!). For the past year or so, I’ve been starting each day with a quick, five-minute yoga/stretching session. Sometimes I’ll watch a DYWM video, other times I’ll do sun salutations, pranayama breathing, or just pick a few poses which feel right. Having hit something of a plateau lately, I would like to adjust my morning “micro-practice” so that it’s maximally efficient, but still relaxing and grounding.

For context, I am a newbie ultrarunner and casual rock climber (and grad student, hence the limited time!). I usually do exercise, stretching, and/or yoga later in the day, but it’s generally goal-specific. Thus, for my mornings, I’m wondering whether…

1. I should prioritize something general, like sun salutations or breathing, which can really expand to fill the minutes available to me,
  2. I should rotate daily foci throughout the week, (maybe upper body practice one day, then legs, then balance or core, etc.)
  3. I should just listen to my body and do poses/flows which feel good, and which help me to recover from the previous day’s activities (runs/climbs are usually in the evening).

Essentially, “If I can only do five minutes of yoga today, how can I make those five minutes really count?” I’d like to prioritize general flexibility, pre-workday relaxation/grounding, and efficiency (5min max).

Thank you in advance! Any/all ideas are welcome!

Matt

1 Like

Ohhhh! Those all sound really good. I have never done a morning micropractice, but you have inspired me. I am going to give it a try for a week! Thank you!

Hi Matt,