Yoga for Extremely Inflexible

Hello,

Two of my family members are extremely inflexible, as in they are unable to stretch their legs out in front of them when sitting straight in a chair without pain. I convinced them both to start doing the yoga on this site, but even the classes for inflexible people are too hard for them. I don’t want them to get discouraged and stop. Are there good classes to start with or challenges they can use to help them?

Thank you so much!

6 Likes

I have the same problem. I’m healthy and fit, but not at all flexible. Today I tried “Yoga for Absolute Beginners: Sukhasana and Dandasana”. The twists made me wince and groan. In staff pose, I couldn’t straighten my legs beyond 90 degrees without rolling back on my sit bones. With straight elbows and interlocked fingers, I couldn’t get my arms more than 45 degrees above horizontal. If this is really the most basic beginner lesson available, I wonder whether I’m just not flexible enough to be attempting yoga. What do you suggest? Is there a different “absolute beginner” series for people who aren’t flexible? Should I move on the next lesson in this series, or would that risk injury? Give up yoga and try something else instead?

2 Likes

I’m only commenting from my experience but have you tried restorative or yin yoga at all? I find props such as pillows and blankets are great to help with sitting poses etc and there’s also the option to modify.
I cannot do yoga like other people can so I bend my knees in forward fold, in chair my arms are in front of me instead of overhead. When my wrists are hurting I do childs pose instead of downward dog.
Yoga can be for everyone with the right props and being kind to yourself and accepting of your personal limitations.

6 Likes

Hi, I thought I saw a challenge for older people on DYWM. These family members may not be older but you can trust that a practice for older folks will be gentle.

3 Likes

Thank you for the suggestion!